Environmental Media Association Awards

by Guest Writer

The Environmental Media Association Awards took place last Saturday, October 18, at the Warner Brothers Burbank Studio. The event marked the 25th anniversary of the organization’s inception and was hosted by Marc Malkin and Arlene Santana. Dozens of eco-friendly celebrities gathered on the green carpet to show support for such an important cause, including Lance Bass, Sharon Osbourne, Arnold Schwarzenegger, Frances Fisher, and Malin Akerman.

The EMA believes that through television, film, and music, the entertainment community has the power to influence the environmental awareness of millions of people. The annual EMA Awards honors film and television personalities, productions, musicians, and musical towers that convey environmental messages in the most creative and influential ways. EMA president, Debbie Levin, explained in a statement,

“We are incredibly proud of the relationships we’ve built with the environmental and entertainment communities over the past 25 years.”

The 2014 winners include:

  • Feature Film: Disneynature Bears (Walt Disney Pictures)
  • Documentary Film: GMO OMG (Compeller Pictures)
  • Television Episodic Drama: Parenthood, “All Aboard Who’s Coming Aboard” (NBC)
  • Television Episodic Comedy: New Girl, “Menus” (Fox)
  • Reality Television: Cosmos: A Space Time Odyssey, “A World Set Free” (Fox/National Geographic Channel)
  • Children’s Television: Paw Patrol, “Pups Save the Bay” (Nick Jr.)
  • EMA Digital Video Award presented by TakePart: “Should We All Be Eating Insects?” (AsapScience)
  • Producers: Gregory Brown, Mitchell Moffit 

The EMA awards is a great event and once again successfully honored people in the media who aim to promote sustainable lifestyles while protecting the environment. You can donate to the EMA here.

Related Posts